Is Mustard Gluten Free? – Learn The Basics And Enjoy Your Meal

Written by Patricia Jones

Mustard is used in various recipes to give the food a unique flavor. It is the seeds of a mustard plant that can be used in the form of powder, paste, whole or cracked.

Being a chef, I can say that mustard has nutritional value. And, it is commonly paired with foods like hot dogs, hamburgers and meats.

Despite its health benefits, many individuals avoid its consumption.

After an extensive research, I found there’s a misconception that mustard contains gluten. And, this is the only reason why they say ‘no’ to mustard food items.

Is mustard gluten free? What do you think? Nothing to worry, I have its solution.

Fortunately, mustard doesn’t contain gluten and it is completely gluten-free. If you have any confusion, read on and get to know it in detail.

Is Mustard Gluten Free? – What Experts Have To Say?

It’s worth noting that store-bought products may contain gluten grains, usually wheat flour. It makes the mustard product gluten. But the whole mustard seed is gluten-free.

Whether you have a concern about gluten product or your doctor has recommended you eating gluten-free foods, you are free to use whole or cracked mustard for the recipe.

In case, you want to use mustard products. It is advised to check the label carefully and look for the ingredients present. Keep in mind that it varies from company to company.

So whenever you go for any product from the supermarket, take a look at its ingredients before purchasing the same. Hope this has solved your query on “Does mustard have gluten?”

Mustard Products – Some Popular Sources Of Gluten

When you want to buy gluten free mustard products, you must know the sources of gluten so that you can pick the right one.

The main source of gluten is wheat flour if mixed with the powdered mustard seeds. It is done to avoid contamination of the product for a longer period of time.

Other than this, vinegar is also considered as a gluten product.

This is because the main sources of vinegar are rice, wheat, corn and other grains. If the source is not gluten-free, it definitely produces vinegar with gluten.

When you go with the purchase of a mustard product with vinegar, you may or may not find the source of vinegar. It means there’s no definitive information that can say it is gluten-free.

In case, you buy this item and prepare your food. It won’t produce harm to your health. It contains the least amount of gluten. So, use it in a small quantity and add flavor to your meals.

What Is Mustard Flour? – Let’s Know About This

Mustard is used as a condiment in several food items. Considering the mustard flour, it is dry mustard or they also say it- mustard powder.

Depending on the choice of brand, you may get the mixture of each type of mustard seeds in varying ratio. With this approach, it turns the flour into hot to hotter (spicy).

And, there will be no gluten in the dry powder if you don’t find wheat flour as its ingredients. Or else, you have to look for another brand product on the market.

This information has definitely cleared out your doubt, “Does mustard flour have gluten present in it or not?” Read on and know more interesting facts.

Types Of Mustard – A Valuable Information

You must know that there are mainly three types of mustard available on the market. Each type of mustards has a different range of spiciness that brings flavor to the food.

1.Yellow Mustard Or Yellowish White Mustard

For preparing pickles and food coloring, yellow mustard is the ideal choice. It is widely available in dried as well as ground form.

2.Brown Mustard

It has taste in-between yellow and black mustard. It is popularly found in Asia including India.

3.Black Mustard

On comparing with other two mustards, it is spicy and has a strong flavor. It costs higher than brown and yellow mustard seeds.

When you purchase black mustard product, you can find whether it contains gluten or it is gluten-free by checking the ingredients.


In case, you want to avoid mustard and get rid of gluten content. You can go with its substitute and get a similar flavor of cooked foods.

Some of the substitutes include wasabi and horseradish. For more details, you can visit this link.

Gluten Free Mustard – A Handful List Of Varieties And Brands

If you are looking for a good quality gluten-free product, check out the list below. No doubt, you can purchase items of these brands in the United States and other countries as well.

  • Annie’s Naturals
  • French’s
  • Boar’s Head
  • Koop’s Mustard
  • Heinz

However, you can also grow your own crop or buy mustard seeds. Thereafter, it is your duty to grind and add it to the recipe. In this way, your foods remain free from gluten.

Do you have confusion how to grind seeds? Click here to read the reviews of mortar and pestle!

Nutritional Value Of Mustard

According to the USDA National Nutrient Database, it is found that mustard seeds contain 5 calories per teaspoon (approx).

Considering the nutrients, it contains selenium, omega-3 fatty acid, phosphorous, calcium, magnesium and more. It is also a good source of vitamin A.

Health Benefits Of Eating Mustard

  • It helps in curing inflammation
  • It reduces ear swelling and heals the tissues
  • It serves well for skin and hair care

Bottom Line

This is all about mustard seeds, its types and health benefits. And, hope it has solved your query on ‘Is mustard gluten free or not?’ Also, you get the added bonus of its substitutes.

So, there’s nothing to worry about if you have a concern for mustard and its product.

Find this post useful? Bookmark this page and keep it safe for further use! If desired, you can share it with family and friends. Also, let us know about any other queries in comment section!

About the author

Patricia Jones

Patricia is a fine dining chef at Wake Forest, North Carolina. She is also a caring mom and a lovely sister. Her heart and passion lies in the art of cooking great dishes for her family and customers.

Leave a Comment